“The Track of the Assassins” in July’s Zoetrope: All-Story

I’m excited to announce that a new story by Jim Shepard appears in July’s issue of Zoetrope: All-Story.  Here’s an excerpt:

My mother liked to remind me that at the age of four I left a garden party one rainy afternoon with my toothbrush in my fist, fully intending a life of exploration, only to be returned later that afternoon by the postman. Her version of the story emphasized the boundaries that her daughter refused to accept. Mine was about the emancipation I felt when I closed the gate latch behind me and left everyone in my wake, and the world came to meet me like a wave.

For those of you unfamiliar with this publication, here’s a little more about it, taken from the website.

In 1997, Francis Ford Coppola launched Zoetrope: All-Story, a quarterly magazine devoted to the best new short fiction and one-act plays. It has received every major story award, including the National Magazine Award for Fiction, while publishing today’s most promising and significant writers…Along with new stories, each edition of the magazine presents a Classic Reprint—a previously published short story that inspired a great film—to illustrate the narrative relationship between the art forms…Zoetrope: All-Story is also an art magazine, as the editors invite a different contemporary artist to illustrate and design each issue.

If you’re interesting in purchasing the summer issue, click here.  Better yet, become a subscriber by clicking here.  The future of American literary fiction depends in no small part to high quality literary journals, so please find journals you like and become a subscriber!


Leave a Reply

